The low Countries The low Countries The low Countries The low Countries The low Countries The low Countries The low Countries The low Countries

The low Countries

In the second stage you will cycle from Brussels to Strasbourg. Brussels as the Capital of Europe is a unique destination. The Grand-Place is described by UNESCO as being 'an outstanding example of the eclectic and highly successful blending of architectural and artistic styles that characterizes the culture and society of this region'. The famous architect Victor Horta and his contemporaries left Brussels some beautiful houses. Brussels had a lot of parks, museums, cultural and gastronomic activities to offer.

The first section in Luxembourg starts at the Luxembourgian/Belgian border in the town of Rombach-Martelange and has a length of 63 km, ending in Luxembourg City, the captial city of the country, which is listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Apart from the last 2 km inside Luxembourg City, this section continuously follows the network of national cycling paths through mostly rural areas of the country. The landscape consists of a mix of fields, forests and small towns. Although the topography presents no drastic climbs, cyclists should be prepared for an uneven terrain here in the foothills of the Ardennes mountain range.

The end-point of the section being located in the capital city insures that visitors can find all types of comfort and a wide range of attractions and activities during their stay.
The second section starts where the first left off and leads over a distance of 44 kilometers to the town of Schengen, which is famous for the Schengen agreement that was signed here in the tri-country area in 1985 and has ever since been important for the existence of a borderless Europe.
The landscape on this second stretch is largely similar to the one before, although the last 8 km before reaching Schengen change things up a bit as the cycle path follows the Moselle river through the vineyards on the Luxembourgish side of the river.

  • Notre-Dame Cathedral

    "A prodigy of the gigantesque and the delicate," as Victor Hugo claimed. Strasbourg Cathedral (1015-1439) is an absolute masterpiece of Gothic art. The 142 m high spire looks incredibly lightweight and made the Cathedral the highest edifice in all Christianity until the 19th century. Three high-spots make the visit unforgettable. Outside, the facade is the greatest "book" of images the Middle Ages has to offer. Hundreds of sculptures stand out from the wall accentuating the effects of shadow and light. The colour of the red sandstone changes throughout the day depending on the colour of the sky. In the summer evenings, the illuminated scenography is an enchantment. Inside, the long aisle inspires peace and reflection. The 12th- to 14th-century stained-glass windows and the rose window are not to be missed. The monumental organ has a remarkable cabinet decorated with automated figures.

  • Luxembourg City, UNESCO World Heritage Site

    Although nowadays full of charming monuments and wonderful buildings, the quiet city of Luxembourg was for many centuries the location of one of the largest fortresses in Europe. Due to its strategic location it was highly valued by western European armies. It is still possible to visit some of the old fortifications all around the city, which allow cyclists a bird’s eye view on the great houses and churches of the low town.

  • Strasbourg European quarter (European Parliament, Council of Europe, European Court of Human Rights)

    The European Quarter is spread over an area covering the districts of Wacken, Orangerie and Robertsau in the north-west of the city and comprising the intersection of the River Ill and the Marne-Rhine Canal.The first specific European building in the area was the Council of Europe's House of Europe in 1949, with the Rhine Commission being located towards the centre of the city. The Audiovisual Observatory and the Institute for Human Rights are the only institutions in the quarter to have moved into pre-existing premises: a 1900 villa and an 18th-century former postal relay station and inn turned conventional building, respectively. In all, there are fourteen different buildings in the European Quarter: seven belonging to the Council of Europe, five belonging to the European Union, plus Arte and the IIHR.

  • Neustadt quarter (Strasbourg)

    The Neustadt quarter is one of the most remarkable and best preserved urban extensions of the turn of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries in Europe. It was created by the Germans during the Reichsland period (1871–1918) to serve as a new city center. The majority of Strasbourg's administrative buildings are located in the Neustadt quarter. The heart of the Neustadt district was confirmed as a World Heritage Site in 2017.

  • Certified EuroVelo Route
  • Developed route with EuroVelo signs
  • Developed route
  • Route under development
  • Route at the planning stage

The countries

The stages