Crossing the Alps Crossing the Alps Crossing the Alps Crossing the Alps Crossing the Alps Crossing the Alps Crossing the Alps Crossing the Alps

Crossing the Alps

The fourth stage will lead you from Basel to Bellinzona. From the cosmopolitan city of Basel to the idyllic town of Bellinzona you will have to cycle along some hilly terrain, breathtaking natural beauty and diverse Swiss landscapes. This stage will lead you through the scenic Swiss regions of the Mittelland, Jura, Central Switzerland and over the Alps.

This cycle route will lead you through major traffic routes and breathtaking Swiss nature.From the Jura, Mitteland, Central Switzerland to the Alps- on your way you will discover the whole range of different landscapes that Switzerland has to offer. 

The cycle route will lead you from more populated, dynamic and cosmopolitan cities such as Basel, Liestal and Ergolztal to some quieter places of the Jura. From there, you will pass Aarau, the Suhrental and the Sempachersee before you will be able to join the streams of tourists in Luzern- the cultural and social centre of Central Switzerland. 

After passing Luzern, you will notice how the landscape will become more and more demanding and mountaneous.On this part of the route you will not only come across the first mountains but also the imposing Vierwaldstättersee (Lake Lucerne). On the last part of the stage to Bellinzona you will notice how the climate slowly but shurely starts to change and becomes milder and warmer, with the first chestnut trees and vineyards on the horizon. 

  • Three Castles, Defensive Wall and Ramparts of the Market-Town of Bellinzona

    The three castles of Bellinzona (Italian Castelli di Bellinzona) are a fortification in Bellinzona, the main town of the Canton of Ticino in Switzerland.The site in its present form was built mainly as a dam in the 15th century and was also used to control the access routes to the Alpine passes. It consists of the three castles Castelgrande, Castello di Montebello and Castello di Sasso Corbaro as well as the city wall and the Murata fortress wall. Since 2000 the castles together with the Murata are a UNESCO World Heritage site.

  • Monte San Giorgio

    The Monte San Giorgio is a mountain in Ticino, Switzerland. It is 1097m above sea level and lies between the two southern arms of Lake Lugano. In 2003, the area surrounding Monte San Giorgio was declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO. The pyramid-shaped mountain is heavily wooded. The natural landscape offers many rare plants a home. In addition, various caves are hidden in the mountain.

  • Certified EuroVelo Route
  • Developed route with EuroVelo signs
  • Developed route
  • Route under development
  • Route at the planning stage

The stages